skip navigation


    NC Soccer Hall of Fame



    Greensboro, NC The North Carolina Soccer Hall of Fame has announced three new inductees for 2017: Cindy Parlow Cone, Michael Berticelli and Stig Sasse.  Also, the UNC Greensboro Men’s Soccer Program will be inducted into the NCSHOF National Champions Hall of Honor.


    The North Carolina Soccer Hall of Fame, founded in 1997, inducts new members annually, including players, coaches, referees and administrators who have made a significant impact on the game of soccer in North Carolina. There are currently 57 members.


    The National Champions Hall of Honor was added in 2012 to honor North Carolina teams and programs that have won national championships.  There are currently 4 members.


    Career highlights of the new inductees:


    Cindy Parlow Cone played at UNC Chapel Hill from 1995-1998, winning a pair of national championships and twice winning the Hermann Trophy as the National Player of the Year.  She made her first appearance for the U.S. Women’s National Team in 1996 and played 10 years on the squad, winning Olympic gold medals in 1996 and 2004 and a Women’s World Cup title in 1999.  She also earned a silver medal at the 2000 Olympics and a bronze at the 2003 World Cup, was a founding member of the Women’s United Soccer Association and became the first head coach to win a National Women’s Soccer League Championship.  Finding in recent years that her true passion is coaching girls, she is now the Associate Director for Triangle United Soccer Association and also travels worldwide as the International Outreach Director for Goals for Girls, an international organization that connects girls from different countries and backgrounds.


    Michael Berticelli served as the successful head men's soccer coach at UNC Greensboro from 1980 to 1983, where he led the Spartans to Division III national championships in 1982 and 1983.  Berticelli also earned exceptional accolades as head coach of Old Dominion University 1984-1989 and the University of Notre Dame 1990-1999. He died on January 25, 2000 at the age of 48 and was inducted into the UNC Greensboro Athletics Hall of Fame as a member of its Charter Class on September 29, 2000. In his honor, the University of Notre Dame established the Mike Berticelli Memorial Tournament, and the National Soccer Coaches Association of America established the Mike Berticelli Excellence in Coaching Education Award.


    Stig Sasse was a respected and much-loved referee in North Carolina who served for almost a quarter century in North Carolina as an official, assessor and mentor to hundreds.  He died on November 9, 2014.  His impact on North Carolina soccer extended well beyond the pitch.  In 2006, the North Carolina Soccer Coaches Association recognized him with its Official/Booking Agent of the Year Award and the Triangle Soccer Referees group established an annual award in his honor called the Stig Sasse Rising Official Award.  In January 2015, the North Carolina Youth Soccer Association honored Sasse posthumously with its highest award, Pioneer of the Game.


    UNC Greensboro Men’s Soccer has won five national championships, in 1982 and 1983 under Coach Michael Berticelli and in 1985, 1986 and 1987 under Coach Michael Parker.  It was the first men’s soccer team in NCAA history to win three consecutive national championships.


    Latest News

    • US Open Cup

    • 06/03/2015, 7:15pm EDT , By Darius Ejlali
    • NC team competes in the Lamar Hunt Open Cup
    • Read More

    Sponsored by North Carolina Soccer Referee Association

    North Carolina Soccer Referee Association

    Visit Website



    Ever Thought Of Becoming A Referee?

    Follow the link and give back to the game.......

    Pro Soccer In NC

    Be sure to support your local team!

    Sponsored by North Carolina Football Club

    North Carolina Football Club

    Visit Website


    Cary, NC


    * Members of the North American Soccer League

    Sponsored by Charlotte Independence

    Charlotte Independence

    Visit Website


    Charlotte, NC


    * Members of the United Soccer Leagues

    Sponsored by Carolina Dynamo

    Carolina Dynamo

    Visit Website


    Greensboro, NC


    * Members of the Premier Development League

    Sponsored by Tobacco Road FC

    Tobacco Road FC

    Visit Website



    Newest Member of the National Premier Soccer League